MINUTES

SPECIAL WORK SESSION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS CEDAR RAPIDS COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT, IN THE COUNTY OF LINN, STATE OF IOWA VIA ZOOM MEETING & LIVESTREAMED ON YouTube

https://www.youtube.com/EngageCRschools/

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 @ 5:00 p.m.

ATTENDANCE

David Tominsky, President; Directors: Jennifer Borcherding, Cindy Garlock, Jennifer Neumann, and Marcy Roundtree. Absent: Directors Humbles and Merschbrock.

Also, present: Noreen Bush and Laurel Day.

Special Guests: Iowa State Senators, The Honorable: Ms. Liz Mathis, Mr. Rob Hogg, and Mr. Todd Taylor. Iowa State Representatives, The Honorable: Ms. Liz Bennett, Ms. Molly Donahue, Ms. Tracy Ehlert, Mr. Eric Gjerde, and Mr. Art Staed.

Technical assistance provided by Justin Schaefer.

President Tominsky called the meeting to order at 5:02 p.m.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

It was recommended that the agenda of Wednesday, December 15, 2021, Board of Education Special Work Session be approved as set forth, and that each item is considered ready for discussion.

Upon motion by Director Jennifer Neumann and second by Director Cindy Garlock, the Board approved the agenda of Wednesday, December 15, 2021, Board of Education Special Work Session and that each item is considered ready for discussion and/or action.

Record of the roll call vote was: Ayes: Directors Borcherding, Garlock, Neumann, Roundtree, and Tominsky. Nays: None. Absent: Directors Humbles and Merschbrock.

WORK SESSION

BA-22-203 Legislative Update (Cindy Garlock/Noreen Bush)

The Board of Directors and Administration shared CRCSD, UEN, and IASB legislative priorities and discussed the upcoming 2022 legislative session with Iowa state senators and representatives who were present. Information Item.

President Tominsky adjourned the meeting at 6:10 PM.



By: Laurel A. Day, Board Secretary

Board of Education approved Record of Proceedings on January 10, 2022 and I hereby declare these minutes as
part of the permanent record of the District.
By
David Tominsky, Board President
ATTEST
Laurel A. Day, Board Secretary

