MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS CEDAR RAPIDS COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT, IN THE COUNTY OF LINN, STATE OF IOWA

https://www.youtube.com/EngageCRschools/

Once in YouTube, click the appropriate LIVE video for audio access to the meeting.

Saturday, January 7, 2023 @ 8:00 a.m.

ATTENDANCE

David Tominsky, President; Directors: Jennifer Borcherding, Cindy Garlock, Nancy Humbles, Dexter Merschbrock, Jennifer Neumann, and Marcy Roundtree.

Also present: Laurel Day, Board Secretary.

Technical assistance provided by Justin Schaefer.

President Tominsky called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

The meeting was held per Iowa Code Chapter 21.8 Electronic meetings due to impractical situation where the location of all in attendance was not able to best be accommodated in person and where public access to the conversation of the meeting to the extent reasonably possible was provided.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

It was recommended that the agenda of Saturday, January 7, 2023, Board of Education Special Meeting be approved as set forth, and that each item is considered ready for discussion and/or action.

Upon motion by Director Cindy Garlock and second by Director Jennifer Neumann, the Board approved the agenda of Saturday, January 7, 2023, Board of Education Special Meeting and that each item is considered ready for discussion and/or action.

Record of the roll call vote was: Ayes: Directors Borcherding, Garlock, Humbles, Merschbrock, Neumann, Roundtree, and Tominsky. Nays: None.

BOARD GOVERNANCE

BA-23-220 Closed Session #3 – Evaluation of Professional Competency (President David Tominsky)

It was recommended that the Board of Education meet in Closed Session for the purpose of the Evaluation of Professional Competency on Saturday, January 7, 2023 as provided by the Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Upon motion by Director Jennifer Borcherding and second by Director Cindy Garlock the Board approved the Closed Session #3 - Evaluation of Professional Competency Pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Record of the roll call vote was: Ayes: Directors Borcherding, Garlock, Humbles, Merschbrock, Neumann, Roundtree, and Tominsky. Nays: None.

RECONVENE: 10:00 AM

BA-23-221 Closed Session #4 – Evaluation of Professional Competency (President David Tominsky)

It was recommended that the Board of Education meet in Closed Session for the purpose of the Evaluation of Professional Competency on Saturday, January 7, 2023 as provided by the Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Upon motion by Director Cindy Garlock and second by Director Jennifer Neumann the Board approved the Closed Session #4 - Evaluation of Professional Competency Pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Record of the roll call vote was: Ayes: Directors Borcherding, Garlock, Humbles, Merschbrock, Neumann, Roundtree, and Tominsky. Nays: None.

RECONVENE: 12:00 PM

BA-23-222 Closed Session #5 – Evaluation of Professional Competency (President David Tominsky)

It was recommended that the Board of Education meet in Closed Session for the purpose of the Evaluation of Professional Competency on Saturday, January 7, 2023 as provided by the Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Upon motion by Director Cindy Garlock and second by Director Jennifer Borcherding the Board approved the Closed Session #5 - Evaluation of Professional Competency Pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Record of the roll call vote was: Ayes: Directors Borcherding, Garlock, Humbles, Merschbrock, Neumann, Roundtree, and Tominsky. Nays: None.

RECONVENE: 1:47 PM

BA-23-223 Closed Session #6 – Evaluation of Professional Competency (President David Tominsky)

It was recommended that the Board of Education meet in Closed Session for the purpose of the Evaluation of Professional Competency on Saturday, January 7, 2023 as provided by the Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Upon motion by Director Cindy Garlock and second by Director Nancy Humbles the Board approved the Closed Session #6 - Evaluation of Professional Competency Pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i).

Record of the roll call vote was: Ayes: Directors Borcherding, Garlock, Humbles, Merschbrock, Neumann, Roundtree, and Tominsky. Nays: None.

President Tominsky adjourned the meeting at 1:48 PM.

Bv	
<i>y</i> ——	David Tominsky, Board President
ATTE	est —
	Laurel A. Day, Board Secretary