

Board of Education Special Meeting 01/25/2024 - 04:15 PM

Educational Leadership and Support Center (ELSC)

Board Room
2500 Edgewood RD NW Cedar Rapids Iowa 52405

MEETING MINUTES



Every Learner. Future Ready.

Attendees

Voting Members

Jennifer Borcherding, Board Director Cindy Garlock, Board President Nancy Humbles, Board Director Jennifer Neumann, Board Director Marcy Roundtree, Board Director Kaitlin Byers, Board Director

Non-Voting Members

Dr. Tawana Grover, Superintendent Ryan Rydstrom, Chief of Staff/Board Secretary Dr. Comfort Akwaji-Anderson, Chief of Schools Area 1 Darius Ballard, Chief of Human Resources Karla Hogan, Chief Financial Officer Linda Reysack, Chief of Schools Area 3 Karinne Tharaldson, Chief of Academics Mark Timmerman, Chief of Schools Area 2

I. Call to Order

President Garlock called the Board of Education Special Meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

II. Approval of Agenda

It is recommended that the Board of Education approves the agenda for Thursday, January 25, 2024, the Board of Education meeting be approved as set forth, and that each item is considered ready for discussion and/or action.

Motion made by: Jennifer Borcherding Motion seconded by: Nancy Humbles Voting:

III. Action Items

i. Agreement - Cedar Rapids Community School District and Instructional Empowerment - 2023 -2024 School Year

Dr. Grover and Chief Academic Officer, Karrine Tharaldson, provided an update on the implementation of Instructional Empowerment by providing background information, current state, and cost.

It is recommended that the Board of Education approve the Agreement between Cedar Rapids Community School District and Instructional Empowerment for the 2023-2024 School Year.

Motion made by: Jennifer Borcherding Motion seconded by: Nancy Humbles Voting: Unanimously Approved

IV. Adjournment

Motion made by: Jennifer Borcherding Motion seconded by: Marcy Roundtree Voting: Unanimously Approved